European Union Aviation Safety Agency (EASA) - (Decentralised Agencies)

SMEs, Large Enterprises, Government
Security , Transport


Not Applicable

Description  Go to funding source website

Decentralised Agencies

Decentralised agencies contribute to the implementation of EU policies. They also support cooperation between the EU and national governments by pooling technical and specialist expertise from both the EU institutions and national authorities. Decentralised agencies are set up for an indefinite period and are located across the EU.


European Union Aviation Safety Agency (EASA)



  • Role: Ensuring safety and environmental protection in civil aviation in Europe
  • Director: Patrick Ky
  • Members: 27 EU countries + Iceland, Liechtenstein, Switzerland, Norway
  • Partners: European civil aviation authorities
  • Established in: 2002
  • Number of staff: 840
  • Location: Cologne (Germany)
  • Website: European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA)


The European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA) is responsible for ensuring safety and environmental protection in air transport in Europe.


What it does

EASA's role includes:

  • harmonising regulations and certification
  • developing the single EU aviation market
  • drawing up technical aviation rules
  • type certification of aircraft & components
  • approving companies that design, manufacture & maintain aeronautical products
  • providing safety oversight and support to EU countries (e.g. on air operations, air traffic management)
  • promoting European and global safety standards
  • working with international stakeholders to improve safety in Europe (e.g. the 'EU air safety list' – a list of banned operators).



EASA consists of 5 directorates:

  • Executive directorate – includes chief engineer, communication & quality department, legal department
  • Strategy & safety management – safety intelligence & performance, strategy & programmes, international cooperation
  • Certification – certification, validation & airworthiness directives for aircraft, environment, parts & appliances, safety oversight for aeronautical design companies
  • Flight standards directorate – responsible for standardisation (national oversight) & rulemaking for maintenance, air operations, aircrew & medical, air traffic management/air navigation services, aerodromes
  • Resources & support directorate – finance & procurement, human resources, IT, applicant services, corporate services


Who benefits

The European and international civil aviation community:

  • European civil aviation authorities
  • air operators & airlines
  • European manufacturers/designers of aircraft & parts
  • maintenance companies
  • commercial & private pilots
  • approved training organisations
  • aero-medical centres
  • air traffic controllers & air navigation services
  • airports


Aircraft & aeronautical products covered:

  • medium & large jets
  • turboprop aircraft
  • light aircraft
  • rotary-wing aircraft (helicopters, gyroplanes)
  • light sport aircraft (balloons, gliders, airships, civilian drones)
  • engines, propellers, flight simulators
  • some military aircraft (e.g. the A400M airlifter)


See also


eufundingoverview.be is een officiële website van de Vlaamse overheid
Uitgegeven door Agentschap Innoveren & Ondernemen